Make An Enquiry 1300 856 282

ISO 45001 Is Setting New Standards

on 18 May 2018 3:12 PM
Blog Category: Safety Blog

Whilst not compulsory, if you’re serious about a safe workplace and managing health and safety risks in a proactive manner, then the new ISO 45001 Standard released in March this year is well worth considering. It’s expected to become the primary reference for Health and Safety Management Systems worldwide. Attaining certification will demonstrate your company’s commitment to providing a healthy and safe workplace. It will also ensure that your company’s undertakings don’t negatively impact on other employees, worksites, the general public or visitors.

Key Highlights Of ISO 45001


As a result of the new ISO 45001 Standard being released, OHSAS 18001 will be withdrawn. However, there will be a three-year migration period with early 2021 being the time that ISO 45001 becomes the primary Standard for Health and Safety Management Systems. If you currently certified for AS4801 and/or OHSAS 18001 - Occupational Health and Safety Standard you will be in a strong position to move to ISO 45001.

The final version of the new Standard against AS4801 is yet to be analysed in detail by Australian peak bodies in relation to Australia’s legislative and business environment. At the same time, local conventions or issues still need to be understood.

Major Variations Between ISO 45001 and AS 4801 are increased focus on:

Key Benefits Of ISO 45001

Book a JTA Safety Audit to help you transition to ISO 45001
Call 1 300 856 282

Share this page